Catch A Chili Crab Hon

Sunday, June 28, 2009

Just one thing more before we move . . .

Filed under: singapore — Shirley @ 10:20 pm

Stop me! I must be stopped. During my stint as the Assistant CLO (Community Liaison Officer), we sponsored a trip to Lee’s Antiques. It’s one of my favorite places from my first CLO sponsored trip there two years ago shortly after we arrived in Singapore. Mick finds it very disturbing that the owner, Laura, calls me by my first name. (Mick’s comment: And they have each others cell phone numbers on speed dial!)

The last time we were at the warehouse, Laura had a drum cum occasional table in her warehouse/showroom but it was already sold. Of course, she could get me one! We discussed color and painted decoration. I mentioned black and gold dragons but very muted and subtle – antiqued so to speak. So in goes the order . . . weeks pass and it wasn’t ready so I figured maybe it just wasn’t meant to be. Well, Laura called the other day to say my drum is here, actually she had a hard time reaching me because we were out of town. Along with Rachel, we headed over to the warehouse. I wasn’t sure they would interpret my idea to my liking, and I was prepared not to like it; an excuse so I could possibly purchase another rug! Well . . . it turned out very nice, though Laura didn’t have the glass top for it, not to worry . . . on the right is the painted design on the top of the drum – the Chinese character that means “double happiness”.

Chinese drum on stand top of drum

I mention our friend Rachel because although she has packed out and will be leaving in a week, she still could not resist “just one more thing”. She got a small drum (different shape), stand, and glass top for a steal – at the “a special customer is leaving” price. Laura also received a new shipment and we could not not poke around. I found my short-legged tea table. It’s 25″ square and sits 12 1/2″ high and solid wood.

short legged square table

But the best find was a lidded rectangular woven basket/chest. Laura had no idea how old it is, or much of the history about it but it was unique, old, and sported all of the original hardware. I had never come across something like this and it was in good condition – I had to have it. Mick was able to read the Chinese characters; vertically from right to left reads: “Huang Tian” and “Bao Ji” but all together it doesn’t make alot of sense. Mick thinks that from the meaning of Huang Tian, the name of a rebellious leader from the latter part of the Eastern Han Dynasty; and Bao: ensure/defend, Ji: records, the chest may have been used to hold his important documents. Makes for a good story, doesn’t it? I’m sticking to that.

antique basket/trunk

Aren’t these the neatest locking pins. My next search is for an antique lock to put through the locking flap – I know just where to go in Chinatown too!

locking bars for the lid locking plate

I’ll have a piece of glass made for the top and use this as a little side table. It’s so much fun when you’re not really looking and come upon something unique!

3 Comments »

  1. Great finds …That table is lovely, the drum- wow and as a basketweaver , I have to admit the basket…what a treasure….and I am sure that you can find the perfect lock.Actually, I have the same recognition situation at the local stamping and scrapbooking stores…8-)!

    Comment by Chris Domino — Sunday, June 28, 2009 @ 11:07 pm

  2. how VERY VERY VERY COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLLLLLLLLLLLLLL. They look just great!
    Great finds.

    Comment by Dave — Sunday, June 28, 2009 @ 11:15 pm

  3. I stumbled on your blog pages looking for Christ Church Melaka. Your photographs are, in general, fantastic. Obviously the setting helps but the composition and mix of colors are unique to your eye. The whole viewing experience was crisp and exciting.
    Thank you for posting them!

    Comment by Martin Fawls — Wednesday, September 29, 2010 @ 8:39 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

